Picture
I have been inspired by the work of Ken Paul because he specifically focuses his
photography work on action/extreme sports, mainly on BMX. In 1999, Paul became the editor and art director of Chase BMX magazine, later to also become a photographer for the same magazine: “It all went hand in hand and before I knew
it, I was behind the lens as much as I was in front of the computer.” This is a quote from his blog on his own website demonstrating his passion for photography and capturing action, movement and motion in his images. Ken Paul has travelled the world taking a wide variety of different types of photos, mainly capturing
the movement of BMX tricks in mid-air. He’s taken photos in locations that
contrast from as far apart as Eastern Europe and Japan.


Ken Paul’s work links into my work very
similarly as I take photos of action/extreme sports in motion. This is why I
have taken a particular liking to his images. Ken has produced some effective
images by using the thirds rule; he captures the fore-ground, middle-ground and
back-ground all in different thirds of the picture, then by using a high shutter speed setting on his camera he captures the object or figure at the peak of action creating a satisfying and
interesting result. His techniques are quite rare in the present days line of work because its difficult to capture a image of movement in such a simple way, yet still making it look so interesting.

I have been inspired to use Ken Paul's work because it is interesting and related to my project. I have decided to experiment with his ideas by using my own photographs and using Photoshop techniques to create different effects that portray movement and stand out by being unique.




Leave a Reply.

    About Me!

    I am a sixth form student at Ysgol John Bright currently studying fine art, photography and engineering. On this website I will demonstrate some of my photography work and the techniques I use.

    Archives

    January 2013
    November 2012
    September 2012

    Categories

    All